The Fairy Tale …

October 20, 2013 § Leave a comment

‘Edward, we are not having sex this morning. You might as well go to work.’

‘The kids are at school. Come on’

Now readers you would presume that I had heard this conversation through the walls, but no myself, my aunt and my uncle are all sat round the kitchen table. Whilst they discuss their sex life I am gagging over my Crunchy Nut. God knows why they think I need to hear this. My aunt has also come to tell me when they have/ haven’t taken part in this activity.

‘I had to go into Reading today. Ed had the day off and there was no way I was going to be chased around the house all day by those exploring hands!’ Again something I don’t need nor want to hear. Or even worse ‘Yep did it earlier and I’ve done the cleaning. Accomplished quite a lot really.’ The smile that beams from her face insures me of two things 1) sex is part of the weekly housework and 2) accomplishments come in many different shapes and sizes.

Now I being a Nun and not experiencing the wonders of sex or, in fact a relationship that has lasted long enough for the whole ‘let’s have sex’ thing to crop up in a while, I don’t actually remember how these scenarios are dealt with. But from what I do remember sometimes you just don’t want to have sex. And the most infuriating reply to that ‘not tonight mate’ is ‘it makes me feel like you don’t love me when you say that.’

Now I want to reply ‘well you know what makes me think that you don’t love me:  1) Whenever I refuse to have sex you have a paddy and bring up the idea of ‘breaking up if we aren’t happy’ (I’m perfectly happy, go have a wank and you might realise happiness can be reached independently) 2) The act of giving you head as you thrust your dick into my mouth I can’t help but wonder is my body being used as sausage casing? 3) When you leave skid marks down the loo and you know I’ll be going in after you.

That all being said sex can be a wonderful moment joining two people together in an intimate and if you’re lucky pleasure inducing moment. However, sex can also be very awkward, positioning yourself correctly for instance. All this rolling around people do in films with their legs going everywhere and hair perfectly posed is obviously a load of bollocks. To the naive 16 year old thinking about having sex with her spotty beau such grand expectations will be sorely squashed the moment she hears one of three things 1) I can’t get it in 2) Its gone soft or 3) Do I have to wear a condom? (Always wear a condom unless you want to have a baby or you like sexually transmitted diseases. It’s awkward enough telling your mother you’re having sex without having to add on the words chlamydia or pregnant.)

This all got me thinking about Fairy Tales and for a long time I really believed that everyone had a soul mate, a person who was going to change your life and add a kind of value that can only exist when you’re truly loved. But the older I get the more I realise how rare love like that can be and if you are lucky enough to find someone who will ignore the skid marks, perform sexual favours  and asks before you leave the house if you have everything, then you really are incredibly lucky. My aunt and uncle may speak ‘inappropriately’ (in my opinion) in front of me, joke about sex and mutter under their breath for the other one to fuck off,  but that kind of love is beyond the realms of lust and infatuation. They need one another to answer the simplest things. As my aunt says ‘I can do almost everything alone, but I’ll always need Ed to mow the grass and fix the car.’

So my advice to those in love, you’re lucky and don’t think the grass is greener because I’m sure a lot of the time it’s exactly the same colour, you just need to keep on top of the watering. For those of us who are single out there, maybe don’t look for the Fairy Tale, look for a person who will water the grass with you and if you’re feeling a bit ill or mopey, someone who adds a few plants just because they can. 

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Fairy Tale … at 22 Years on this Planet ... .

meta